KO’d

Img_2416

Rice with shrimp and chorizo, baked plantains, chayote pickles

I’ve got my method for cooking rice on a stovetop mastered. It always comes out perfectly cooked — never burnt, never hard, never soggy. I should have realized earlier that adding a whole pound and a half of chorizo to not just this, but to anything, would mean total obliteration by pig fat. My poor rice turned to mush under the power of all that bone-sticking grease. By the time I was on day three of leftovers with this, I might as well have been eating a shrimp and sausage mochi cake. In hindsight, it was a good decision to counter this behemoth with the cutting acidity of vinegary pickles and plantains that were baked and not fried. Had I gone with my original idea of refried beans on the side, I think I might have crumbled under the weight of it all.  

Leave a Reply

