CABIN FEVER

Img_2577Img_2623

Lemongrass chicken with coconut rice and sauteed kale with mushrooms

I can’t even begin to count the number of times I’ve come across an interesting recipe, only to find that the instructions are designed for the charcoal grill. It’s as if all the recipe writers out there live in magical places where the weather is always balmy (or maybe they all live in California). It may be smack in the middle of barbecue season right now, but I still don’t own a grilling apparatus. If I tried putting one in my tiny backyard, I’m afraid I’d end up setting the wild tangle of weeds and overgrown vines on fire before ever obtaining a nicely charred steak. 

This lemongrass chicken was based on a recipe written for wings cooked on the grill. I substituted a whole chicken of a slightly heavier weight that I butterflied and roasted in the oven. J. Kenji Lopez-Alt has an interesting article on why butterflying produces the best results for roast chicken. I may not have had that flavor one gets from cooking over charcoal, but at least my chicken was moist on the inside and crispy on the outside, just the way it should be.

 

Leave a Reply

